Schönbusch Park is one of the earliest landscape gardens in Germany. From 1775 the Archbishop of Mainz, Friedrich Carl von Erthal, had his deer park redesigned in the English landscape style. The first built structure in the garden, designed by architect Emanuel Joseph von Herigoyen, was the Electoral Pavilion. It was built between 1778 and 1782 as a little neo-classical summer residence with exquisite Louis Seize furnishings and is known today as "Schönbusch Palace".
Schönbusch Park was completed in 1790 by garden architect Friedrich Ludwig Sckell. Architectural features such as an observation tower, the Red Bridge, the Temple of Friendship and the Philosopher's House, a tiny village and shepherds' cottages are arranged in charming settings with artificial lakes and "hills".
In the park visitor centre (former kitchen building) the exhibition "Everything appears natural, so well concealed is the design" informs about the history and development of the park.
| top |
Kleine Schönbuschallee 1
April-September: 9 am-6 pm
Park Visitor Centre
April-September: Saturdays, sundays and holidays:
11 am-6 pm
Guided tours every hour on the hour (in German; approximately 20 minutes)
Last guided tour:
April-September: 5 pm
For groups it is possible to book guided tours in English and French on the garden exhibition and the park (telephone booking required):
fax 06021 395-802
3.50 euros regular
2.50 euros reduced
Rooms in the palace only accessible via staircase; visitor centre at ground level
Restaurant "Kulinarischer Schönbusch"
Bus to "Park Schönbusch"
Car park at the park entrance
Schloss- und Gartenverwaltung Aschaffenburg
Fax 06021 38657-16
| top |